Canada removes all countries from the designated country of origin (DCO) list

May 17, 2019—Ottawa, ONThe Government of Canada is committed to a well-managed asylum system that’s fair, fast and final. Effective today, Canada is removing all countries from the designated country of origin (DCO) list, which effectively suspends the DCO policy, introduced in 2012

Claimants from the 42 countries on the DCO list were previously subject to a 6-month bar on work permits, a bar on appeals at the Refugee Appeals Division, limited access to the Interim Federal Health Program and a 36-month bar on the Pre-Removal Risk Assessment.

De-designating countries of origin has no impact on the Canada-U.S. Safe Third Country Agreement.


Quick Facts:

  • Budget 2019 announced $208 million to increase the capacity of the asylum system and shorten wait times at the Immigration and Refugee Board. This is the largest-ever investment into the IRB and builds on funding announced in Budget 2018, as well as a series of measures implemented to improve the efficiency of the asylum system following an independent review.
  • Removing all countries from the DCO list is a Canadian policy change, not a reflection of a change in country conditions in any of the countries previously on the list.